Office de Tourisme du Rayol Canadel
  >> A unique place / History
Le rayol Canadel : History Rayol Canadel's History

Rayol Canadel's History

Untill the beginning of the century, the coast line of Maures was pratically inhabited, mainly because of access difficulties. It's with the opening of the Provence railway (1885) that the coast became easy, giving a tourist vocation in this region.

The healthy seaside resort of Rayol was created from the Môle extension in 1925 by the real estate company on about 300 hectares. It included five districts : Rayol, Canadel, Fenouillet, Dattier and the Pierrugues.

Important works of fitting were made : 35km of roads, staircases, gardens, hotels, Patec of Pergola, pier of the beach, the reconstruction of a Provencal village and even building of a small harbour for the leisure boats. It's only in 30 August 1949 that village became independent. 

Version française Top | Legales Notice | Sitemap | Contact English Version
Création de sites internet SARL DBC